Interview #3

7 Aug

Interview #3

I conducted my third interview in the Flatiron District one weekend when I was strolling through the area. Lately, I have been hearing more and more horror stories of what New York City was like in the 60s and 70s, I regards to crime in particular. I was curious to talk to someone who might have an inside opinion to the evolution of crime I the city, in particular in the Flatiron District. My results of my efforts to talk to a policeman and get some information were not as fruitful as I had hoped, but here’s what I learned.

I approached an officer who was monitoring the area around the North side of the Flatiron building and the south end of Madison Square Park. He wouldn’t let me use his real name in this report, so let’s just call him Officer Smith. I asked Officer Smith how long he had been a cop and he said for about 10 years. I asked him how long he had been working in the area, and he said about 2 years. I tried to ask him about the evolution of crime in the area, and he said he didn’t know much about it, but that everything got a lot better when Mayor Bloomberg came along. This was about as much I got out of him!

Leave a Reply

